Youngsters blitz Leitrim to set up Sligo semi-final

U-20s give Roscommon football a shot in the arm!

Eirgrid Connacht U-20 FC Quarter-Final

Roscommon 4-16   Leitrim 0-10 

There was a badly needed boost for Roscommon football on Tuesday night at Dr. Hyde Park when the U-20 side swept past Leitrim to qualify for the Connacht semi-final against Sligo next Wednesday. 

  In very wet conditions, the home side made a slow start, but with Colin Walsh, Keith Doyle, Daire Cregg, Adam McDermott and Ben O’Carroll outstanding, Roscommon began to pull away. They led by 0-7 to 0-2 by the 23rd minute and then, when leading by four points in first-half injury-time (0-10 to 0-6), Leitrim midfielder Gavin Reynolds was black carded and Roscommon punished the visitors with a devastating burst of scoring.

  Two goals within 60 seconds from Adam McDermott and Ben O’Carroll left Roscommon ahead by 2-10 to 0-6 at the break. But worse was to come for Leitrim on the restart when Roscommon grabbed two goals through Darragh Heneghan and James Fitzpatrick. It left the home side 16 points in front and the match was a non-event after that.

  There were some eye-catching displays from the home side particularly from Doyle, Cregg and O’Carroll, while for a well-beaten Leitrim team, Tom Prior stood out with some quality scores.

  After the match the Roscommon manager Liam Tully was happy with his side’s display but says they have plenty to work on. 

  “We had a slow start but we got into the game well and I was happy with our attacking play in the conditions and we took our goals well.

  “We will be back training on Friday night and we are expecting a formidable challenge from Sligo but with so many players out we are very happy to get over this hurdle tonight and we can press on now,” he said.

Roscommon: Conor Carroll; Thomas Crean, Colin Walsh, Dylan Gaughan; Patrick Gavin, Cian Glennon, Robbie Dolan; Keith Doyle (0-1), Conor Lohan; Ronan Garvin, James Fitzpatrick (1-1), Daire Cregg (0-9, 4 frees); Adam McDermott (1-3), Ben O’Carroll (1-2, 1 free), Darragh Heneghan (1-0). Subs: Jack Lohan for Crean (38), Jason Doory for McDermott (38), Evan Corcoran for Heneghan (42), Enda Crawley for Garvin (45), Brian O’Hara-Duggan for C Lohan (50).

Leitrim: Sean Reynolds; Niall Keegan, Eoin McLoughlin, Patrick McKenna (0-1); Jack Flynn, Tom Gilheaney, Radek Oberwan; Paul Keaney (0-3, 1 free), Gavin Reynolds; Colin Moran, Adam Reynolds, David O’Connell; Barry McWeeney (0-1), Tom Prior (0-3), Oisin Bohan (0-2, frees). Subs: Matthew Earley for Reynolds (31), Kevin Brady for O’Connell (34), Oisin Niblock for Oberwan (39), Shane McGloin forKeegan (41), Senan Harte for McWeeney (48).


Referee: Liam Devenney (Mayo)