Match at a glance

Man of the Match: Aidan Campbell (Mayo): There were many candidates on both sides. For Mayo, Donal Vaughan, James Burke, Seamus O’Shea, Tom Parsons and Mikey Sweeney were all excellent. For Roscommon, David Keenan was magnificent all through as was Stephen Ormsby. Cathal Cregg, Donie Shine and sub Paul Garvey also played very well for a gallant Roscommon team but Campbell must get the nod. He was here, there and everywhere and he scored seven marvellous points for his team. Weather/Crowd: It was a cool but beautiful evening and the crowd of about 3,500 created a brilliant championship atmosphere. There was a huge crowd from Roscommon and they showed that they are some of the best supporters in the country by getting behind their team all through. I was so proud to be a Roscommon man in Kiltoom yesterday. Our day will come.  Entertainment Value: A mighty game of football. Mayo were the stronger team in the first half but the drama rose with every passing minute in the second half. There were brilliant scores from both sides and a dramatic, nail-biting finish. Referee Watch: Pat McGovern had a poor game and was very fussy. He did not really affect the quality of the game though but he made a major error in not sending off Chris Barrett for hacking down Kevin Higgins for the late Roscommon penalty. It was certainly a yellow card offence at least as he had booked Barrett earlier in the second half.