Saturday, 28 March 2015

Sporting Flashbacks with Seamus Duke

5 Years Ago

Roscommon & District League Womens Cup Final: Shiven Rovers 2 Ballinasloe Town 1. 

Then Taoiseach Bertie Ahern turned the sod on the new stadium for Athlone Town.

In rugby, Connacht Junior League: Creggs 15 Castlebar 6. 

O’Gara Cup Final: St Dominic’s 1-7 Strokestown 0-9. 

Connacht Club SHC Final: Portumna 0-17 Athleague 1-5. 

Athleague: D Connell; N Connolly, K Mullen, P Curley; C Moran, K McGeeney, P Glennon; D Hogan, M Connaughton; T Reddington (0-2), P Cuddy (0-1), K Regan (0-1); B Cunniffe, F Farrell, A Cunniffe (0-10). Subs: K Boyle, J Connolly.

10 Years Ago

County JFC B Final: Strokestown 1-6 Fuerty 0-7. 

Railway Cup Hurling Final: Leinster 0-16 Connacht 2-9. Roscommon’s Adrian Kelly (0-2) and Mickey Cunniffe lined out on the Connacht team.

Omagh fund-raiser at Hyde Park (SF): Roscommon 2-9 Galway 0-15.

15 Years Ago

League of Ireland Division One: Athlone Town 1 Finn Harps 0. 

Connacht Club SHC Final: Sarsfields 5-15 Four Roads 0-7. 

Four Roads: A Tully; P Lohan, M Kelly, R Glennon; P Mannion, F Carthy, J Cunniffe; M Cunniffe, D Coyle (0-3); F Grehan, D Lohan, R Mulry (0-2); J Mannion, G Coyle (0-1), S Coyle (0-1).

National Football League Division 2 (at Elphin): Roscommon 0-12 Fermanagh 0-10. 

Roscommon: B Morkan; D Neary, E Gavin, B Butler; R O’Callaghan, D Donlon, M Reilly; P Earley, J Moran; L Dolan (0-3), T Ryan (0-2), M Donlon; N Dineen, D Connellan (0-1), D Duggan (0-3). Subs: L Dowd (0-2), D Washington (0-1), S Curran.

Roscommon Div 1 U-21 FC Final: Roscommon Gaels 1-10 St Dominics 0-4 (Fergal O’Donnell was top scorer in the final with 0-4).