Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Ladies’ trip to Tipp!

TG4 Intermediate Ladies Championship

Tipperary v Roscommon, Ardfinnan (3 pm)

Roscommon resume championship duties after a two-week break when they make the long trip to Ardfinnan on Sunday to take on Tipperary. After their big win against Clare in the opening round Roscommon will enter the match as favourites, as Clare had five points to spare over Tipperary last week.

  But as everyone knows football is never that predictable and Roscommon will have to be on their guard against complacency for Sunday. Against Clare there were big performances from Annette McGeeney, captain Louise Tully, midfielders Marla Candon and Sineid Cooney, and the full forward line of Emer Casey, Claire Grehan and Sarah Sharkey. 

  With forwards like Edel Hanley in their ranks Tipperary will take careful watching by the Roscommon defence. But if the Roscommon forward line – who all scored against Clare in very trying conditions – can combine as effectively again, they will be very difficult to beat.

Results to Date in Group A; Limerick 0-8 Tipperary 1-8; Roscommon 2-15 Clare 1-5; Tipperary 1-10 Clare 2-12; Cavan 2-15 Limerick 1-11.

  Roscommon Panel: Sarah Finnerty (St. Brigids), Feena Beirne (Strokestown), Annette McGeeney (Oran), Joan McNulty (Eire Og), Lorraine McNulty (Eire Og), Laura Sharkey (Roscommon Gaels), Louise Tully (Kilglass Gaels), Marla Candon (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Sinead Cooney (Oran), Caroline Conway (Ballyboden St Endas), Anne-Marie Carley (Kilbride), Michelle Carey (Eire Og), Sarah Sharkey (Roscommon Gaels), Claire Grehan (St. Brigids), Emer  Casey (Ballinameen), Helena Cummins (Michael Glaveys), Cliona McHugh (St Brigids), Claire Kelly (St Brigids), Sinead Kenny (St Croans), Maria Keenehan (Boyle), Laura Harrison (St Brigids), Fiona Gavin (St.  Brigids), Anna McCormack (Four Roads), Susie Keenehan (Boyle), Tara Taylor (Kilbride), Donna Kelly (Four Roads), Lorraine O’Connor (St Faithleachs), Ruth Kelly (Ballinameen), Sarah Keenehan (Boyle), Sinead Keenehan (Boyle), Claire Shanagher (St Brigids), Corina Gormley (Kilbride), Niamh Coyle (Four Roads), Martina Freyne (Western Gaels), Rachel Ryan (Castlerea St. Kevins).