Friday, 27 March 2015

Golf News





Roscommon Golf Club

Ladies: With an entry of over 70 players, the first day of the President’s Prize to the Ladies (Mrs. Helen Sweeney) provided some of the lowest scores seen for some time in the Club. The leader on the day with 62 Net was Assumpta Lennon. Conditions on the 2nd day proved more difficult with only one player breaking 70 and that was Laura Grehan on 68. The overall results are:-

1st Catherine Mulryan 141, 2nd Paula Quinn 142, Gross Ruth Lennon 154 Gross. 3rd Carol O’Donnell 144, 4th Claire Keane 144, 5th Mary Lalor 146 and

6th Sheila Fallon 146. 1st 18 Nett, Assumpta Lennon 62, 2nd 18 Net, Laura Grehan 68.1st 18 Gross, Ailbhe Farrell 79 and 2nd 18 Gross Sinead Benedetti 79.The winner of the junior prize was Ann McCormack on 73 nett

With teams entered in all divisions of the AA Insurance Ladies Golf Championships, Roscommon ladies have been busy, but mostly successful in the past week. Carrick-on-Shannon were the opponents in both the Challenge Cup and the Junior Foursomes and Roscommon were the victors in both matches. The Junior Foursomes match was particularly exciting as both teams were 3 matches each after the second match day and Roscommon won in the play off.

The Senior Foursomes also had a nail biting finish when Roscommon defeated Athenry. Roscommon were two matches up after the first day but Athenry won two matches on the second day in Roscommon.  One match went to the 19th hole. However Roscommon won on the first hole of the play off.

  The Roscommon Mixed team were also successful against Castlerea on Wed. 21st and proceed to the next round.

  In the AIB Club Challenge the team of Mary Lalor, Helen Sweeney and Ethel Keenan have qualified for the next round which will be in Galway on the 4th June.

  Mens: The fourth round of the President’s Prize is being played this week and the draw is: Frank Grehan v Frank Ferguson, Luke Daly v Eddie Miley, Paul Hoare v Bob McCormack, John Walker v Kevin Henry, Robert Hill v Louis O Doherty, Seamus Byrne v John McGrath, Peter Geraghty v Dan O Brien, Brian Feeley v Seamus O Reilly. The quarter finals take place on Saturday 31st May, with the semi finals on Thursday 5th June and the final on Sunday 8th June.

  Next Sunday 1st June the competition for men is an 18 hole men’s singles sponsored by The Church Street Station, Roscommon. Also next Sunday the CBS Past Pupils outing takes place with the tee reserved from 10am to 2pm.

On Monday 2nd June there is an Open Men’s Singles sponsored by Hannon’s Oakwood Hotel.


Results of Carlton Cards competition. 1st Paul Mooney 61; 2nd Niall McSharry 64; Cat 1 Joe McElhone 65; Cat 2 Michael Mulligan 66; Cat 3 Eddie Campion 65.

Open Weekend this Fri 30th/Sat 31st/Sun June 1st. Contact 094 9620068 after 7pm or 087 127 8066 for timesheet. Senior Inter Club June 3rd Vs Athlone