Monday, 30 March 2015

Pearses are league king-pins

Lynch Flooring Roscommon SH League Final

Padraig Pearses 3-15

Four Roads 1-8

Tommy Connolly

This final of the Lynch Flooring SH league was a very disappointing and one-sided affair. Because of the ‘no county players’ rule Four Roads were very under strength, having to line out without 11 of their county panel. Pearses were without just two players, and they consequently proved too strong on Sunday evening last in Athleague.

  The result was never in doubt from the early stages as Pearses were on top all over the field. They led by 1-3 to 0-0 after only 12 minutes, thanks to points from Cathal Kelly (a free and a sideline cut) and Michael Duignan, and a goal from Cormac Gavigan. A free from Enda Rogerson opened Four Roads’ account but that score was cancelled out with another Cathal Kelly free. Rogerson sent over another free but the Four Roads attack was living off crumbs as they were starved of possession.

  Pearses really took control of the game at this stage with four points from David Sweeney, Michael Donoghue, Cathal Kelly (a free) and Tomas Sweeney, to move into a nine-point lead. Another Enda Rogerson free failed  to make any impact for a struggling Four Roads side. Another four points before the interval by Cathal Kelly (a free) and David Loughnane saw Pearses go in with a match-winning half-time lead 1-12 to 0-3.

  The 2nd half proved to be slow and ponderous as Pearses had it all wrapped up throughout. Cathal Kelly sent over another two frees early on to signal that they had one hand on the trophy at that stage. A brief rally by Four Roads failed to rattle the winners. Enda Rogerson pointed two frees and young Conor Mulry scored a very good goal.

  That brief hint of a comeback was crushed by Pearses almost immediately when their full-forward David Sweeney found the net twice in three minutes. Cathal Kelly pointed a free with the last puck of the game to leave his side  impressive and well deserved winners of the first adult title of the year in the county.

  Pearses have been knocking on the championship door now for a few years and they will take great heart and encouragement from this great win over their neighbours and long-time rivals. Four Roads, on the other hand, will regroup and when they get all their county players on board they will still be the team to beat in this year’s championship as they seek a historic five in a row.

Pearses: Conor Fitzgibbon; Jimmy Donoghue, Pat Finneran, Shane Berrigan; Dara Mulvey, Alan Loughnane, Martin Mulvey; Ollie Dolan, Cathal Kelly (0-10); Michael Donoghue (0-2), David Loughnane (0-1), Robert Nolan; Tomas Sweeney (0-1), David Sweeney (2-1), Cormac Cogavin (1-0). Subs: C Kelly for D Mulvey, A Sweeney for C Cogavin, C Sweeney for S Berrigan, K Feehily for D Loughnane, C Fallon for R Nolan. 

Four Roads: Robert Kelly; Kieran Dowd, Michael Fallon, John Healy; Mark Kelly, Damien Lohan, Padraig Mulry; John Rogerson, Noel Fallon; Conor Murray (1-0), David Naughton, Enda Rogerson (0-5); Terence Kelly, Andrew Lawlor, John Moran. Subs: R Glennon for P Mulry, D Butler for A Lawlor, J Kelly for D Butler. 

Referee: Kevin McGeeney.

Issue dated: 08 June 2012
© Roscommon People