Sunday, 29 March 2015

Last meeting: Relegation blues

March 2010: Wexford 1-12 Roscommon 1-9 

The last game between the sides met was in March 2010 at Dr Hyde Park in division three of the league. Roscommon had to win to avoid relegation while Wexford had to win to maintain their promotion push. 

  At half-time Roscommon led by 0-7 to 0-6 having played against a strong breeze. But Wexford introduced subs PJ Banville and Colm Morris in the second half and both played their part in Wexford’s win. 

  Wexford led by two points with four minutes to go. Then Cathal McHugh scored a well-taken goal for Roscommon to edge them ahead, but in injury-time Shane Roche fisted home a match-winning goal to give Jason Ryan’s men a vital win and consign Roscommon to division four football.

Wexford: Anthony Masterson; Damien Carter, Joey Wadding, Niall Murphy; Brian Malone, David Murphy, Andreas Doyle; Eric Bradley, Brendan Doyle (0-1); Ciaran Deely (0-1), Redmond Barry (0-2), Adrian Flynn (0-2); Ciaran Lyng (0-2), Pat Naughter, Shane Roche (1-3). Subs: Colm Morris (0-1) for Flynn, PJ Banville for Naughter. 

Roscommon: Geoffrey Claffey; Seanie McDermott, Peter Domican, 

Stephen Ormsby; David Keenan, Cathal Cregg, Seanie Purcell; Enda 

Kenny (0-1), Brian Higgins; Paul Garvey (0-1), Kevin Higgins (0-1), Donal Ward; John Rogers (0-2), Donal Shine (0-3), Terence Kelly. Subs: Dara Hussey for Kelly, Cathal Dineen for Ward (0-1), Cathal McHugh (1-0) for Rogers, Colm Garvey for Keenan. 

Referee: Michael Duffy (Sligo).