Thursday, 2 April 2015

Pearses prevail in U-16 Final

U-16 County Hurling Final

Padraig Pearses 1-12 Four Roads 1-6

Padraig Pearses were full value for their six-point win against Four Roads in this curtain-raiser played in Athleague last Sunday. A strong second half performance saw Pearses come from behind to win the title in some style.

  The first half was a low-scoring affair and with the breeze Four Roads led by 0-5 to 0-3 at half-time. In the third minute of the second half Four Roads scored a goal when Michael Donoghue’s free went all the way to the Pearses net to open up a five-point lead, but Pearses took over completely after that and played well with the aid of the elements at their backs.

  Ronan Daly was accurate from frees and two points from him and another from Gavin Downey saw Pearses back in the game and then 12 minutes into the second half Adam Finnerty scored a rather fortunate goal for a Pearses side that were on top. Finnerty then went on to score two further points as Pearses pulled away. 

  Conor Mulry’s point for Four Roads was brief respite as Pearses closed the deal with two late frees from the impressive Ronan Daly.

Padraig Pearses: Kevin Sweeney; Hubert Darcy, Conor Glynn, Ben Fallon; Daniel Glynn, Jason Mannion, Eoin Cogavin; Gavin Downey (0-2), Tom Butler; Leon Feehily, Ronan Daly (0-7), Mark Naughton; Matthew Fehily, Adam Finnerty (1-3), Sean Dunne. Subs: Richard McManus for M Feehily, Tony McEvily for Naughton.

Four Roads: Patrick Kelly; Michael Healy, John Healy, Donal Kelly; Nigel Kelly, Ollie Daly, Keith Dolan; Conor Mulry (0-4), Jack Conroy; Shane Dolan, Michael Donoghue (1-1), Darren Campbell; Tim Clogher, James Fitzmaurice (0-1), Jonathan Kiernan. Subs: Brian Lawlor for Clogher. 

Referee: Kevin McGeeney.