Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Golf notes

Athlone Golf Club

The men's captains prize day takes place next Saturday & Sunday the 19th & 20th of June. The top 10% qualify from both days for a 9-hole play-off on the Sunday evening. All the very best to Michael on his big day. Hopefully the weather will hold up. We encourage all members to show their support to Michael by playing on either day.

Boyle Golf Club

Competitions for this week are the Mens Competition on Thursday night. Friday is social golf with a 12 hole Scramble. Next weekend is an open competition. Format will be 18 hole stableford and can be played Saturday or Sunday. Note to self, it is not a re-entry and can only be played once. Golf lessons continue on Saturday mornings at 11 am for Boys and Girls.  

And finally congrats to Roscommon on a great win last Sunday against Leitrim and good luck in the Connacht final. 

Ladies: Lady Presidents day, Carmel McGarry's, is on Saturday 2nd July. Please enter your name to play on time-sheet in Clubhouse.

Carrick-on-Shannon Golf Club 

Next weekend we are back to a choice of playing the Blue course or the white course, play over Saturday or Sunday. Our Seniors had a great win over Co. Sligo, winning 2 matches at home & 1 away with other halved & one defeat. We now play Strokestown on Tuesday next June 21st. 

Ceannt Golf Society

The next outing of the Ceannt Golf Society takes place at Ballinasloe Golf Club on Saturday 18th June. Tee-off time is at 12 noon and all are welcome.

  Our May outing took place at Longford Golf Club and despite it being one of the wettest days of the year, a good crowd turned up. 

  Carrying on his good form from the previous outing, Niall Morrin emerged victorious by the narrowest of margins from runner-up Maurice Mulhern. Category 1 winner was Dermot Fallon and Category 2 winner was Liam Larkin. The front nine was won by Philip Gunning and the second nine went to John Collins. 

Roscommon Golf Club 

President Ms. June Halliday’s President’s Prize was won on Saturday 11th June by Phelim Henry who beat Gerry Keegan in the match-play final. Results – winner: P. Henry, 2nd: G. Keegan, quarter-finalists, P. Geraghty, C. Hanly, L. Casey, K. Kenny, Semi-finalists, B. Daly and J. Walker. The winner of the President’s Prize to ladies was Paula Quinn with a score of 69 on the first day and 73 on the second day, giving her a total of 142. 2nd M. Seymour 148, gross S. Benedetti 155, 3rd M. Mellett 148, 4th G. Relihan 149, 5th H. Sweeney 150, 6th Y. Waldron 151. 1st Day (18) M. Pendar 73, 2nd day (18) M. Lalor 76. Junior boys winner was M. Kearney and Junior girls winner was A. Donlon. Well done to all our prize-winners. Scramble results on Saturday June 11th, 1st place, P. Brady, B. McConn and S. Scanlon, 2nd N. Scanlon, M. Scanlon and M. O'Gara. Mens results Open Friday 10th competition, 1st Cathal Gunn 37 pts. Ladies results Monday 6th June, 1st M. McManus 19 pts. Tuesday 7th, 1st S. Benedetti 39 pts, 2nd R. Lennon 39 pts, Gross A. McCormack 31pts, 3rd S. Kelly 38 pts. Open Friday 10th June, 1st G. Relihan 40 pts. The men's intermediate and minor scratch cups were cancelled on Sunday 12th due to the weather and will be rescheduled for a later date.