Friday, 27 February 2015

Heartbreak for Roscommon Ladies

All-Ireland Ladies
U-14 B Final

Tipperary 3-7
Roscommon 1-6

The Roscommon Ladies U-14 team suffered All-Ireland final heartbreak in Banagher last Saturday when they were defeated by a more impressive Tipperary outfit by a seven-point margin.

  Despite the best efforts of the Roscommon team, the better team prevailed on the day as Tipperary always looked the more likely winners after surging into a commanding six-point half-time lead.

  It was Tipp’s menacing corner-forward Roisin Howard who proved to be the torn in the Roscommon side, striking twice for two goals in the 5th and 14th minutes of proceedings.

  However this was only after Roscommon had made the perfect start to the game through wing-forward Katie Daly who rattled the back of the Tipperary net inside a minute.

  Roscommon remained competitive right throughout the opening period with points from Shaunna Bannon and Shauna Carroll keeping them in touch – however they still went in at the interval in arrears – 1-2 to 2-5 to Tipp.

  Roscommon did reduce the deficit through a Shauna Connell free three minutes after the re-start but were dealt a huge blow when Tipperary substitute Saoirse McGeever struck for her side’s third goal soon after.

  Pat Leonard’s team were handed an opportunity to haul themselves back into contention in the 40th minute but Rachel Fitzmaurice saw her penalty strike a post and with that Roscommon’s hopes faded.

  The teams exchanged point for the remainder of the contest and try as they may, Roscommon couldn’t find the scores to mount the comeback they required.

Roscommon: C. O’Reilly; F. Tully, M. Kiernan, T. Murtagh; J. Mullooly (0-1), A. Shiel, C. McCormack; C. Shanagher, S. Connell (0-2, both frees); K. Daly (1-2), R. Fitzmaurice, T. Lennon; S. Bannon (0-1), O. Kenny, G. Lohan. Subs: G. Gaynor for Tully (40 mins), M. Mattimoe for Kenny (43 mins), R. Brennan for Shanagher (44 mins).

Tipperary: M. B. Stuart; A. Corcoran, (0-1), Z. Farrell Aylward, L. Ni Ceallaigh; S. Murchan, L. Cadell, A. Power; M. Burke (0-1), M. Curley; A. Moloney, S. Buckley (0-1), C. Lonergan (0-1, a free); C. Condon (0-1), E. Fitzpatrick, R. Howard (2-2). Subs: S. McGeever (1-0) for Fitzpatrick, K. Cashman for Lonergan (52 mins).

Referee: M. Doherty (Wexford).