Friday, 27 March 2015

Winning start for Roscommon minors

Ladies Connacht Minor Football Championship 

Roscommon 2-18 Leitrim 1-5

The Roscommon minor ladies team started their Connacht Championship campaign away to Leitrim at Stanley Cox Park, Annaduff on Friday evening last. 

  Leitrim won the toss and opted to play with the wind in the first half, but it was the Roscommon ladies who started the stronger, storming into a ten points to two lead by half-time. 

  Six of Roscommonís first-half points come from the boot of full-forward Deidre Regan, two from Natalie McHugh and one each from Laura Fleming and Emma Jones. Leitrimís scores came from Roisin Fowley and Bridget Gallagher. 

  Within five minutes of the re-start Roscommon stretched their lead with two further points from Natalie McHugh and a goal in the fifth minute from the impressive Deidre Regan at full-forward. 

  Leitrim were awarded a penalty in the eight minute after Bridget Gallagher was fouled and the same player slotted past Richelle Timothy in the Roscommon goal. 

Roscommon had an instant response with second-half substitute Claire Cregg, Kylie Roddy, Deirdre Regan and Natalie McHugh putting Roscommon fourteen points clear entering the final quarter. 

  Roscommon went on the score a further two points, one from a Natalie McHugh free in the 48th minute and a point from play from substitute Rachel Finan. 

Kylie Roddy got Roscommonís second goal in the 66th minute. 

  Leitrimís three points in the second half came from a 45th minute free from Michelle Guckian and points from Bridget Gallagher and Roisin Fowley in the 68th and 69th minutes. 

This was a good performance from the Roscommon ladies, but no doubt there will be much tougher tests ahead.  

Roscommon: Richelle Timothy; Jane McGowan, Cait Mullooly, Carol OíConnor; Yvonne Lennon, Gillian Dufficy, Ellen Beirne; Emma Jones (0-1), Rebecca Coyle; Joanne Cregg, Natalie McHugh (0-6), Laura Fleming (0-1); Kylie Roddy (1-1), Deidre Regan (1-7), Rhona McDonagh. Subs: Suzanne Brady, Rachel Finan (0-1), Sarah Crean, Maria Galvin, Laura Kelly, Rebecca Mullooly, Rochelle Mullaney, Fiona Brady, Rhona Burke, Laura Brudell, Claire Cregg (0-1), Fiona McCann, Emma Hannon, Shauna Keenan, Genevieve McCormack. 

  Roscommon now play Mayo in Ballinlough on Friday evening next, 13th of May at 7 pm.