Monday, 30 March 2015

Darts Christmas Singles on Sunday

The Christmas Singles takes place in Hannon’s Hotel on Sunday next, 12th of December starting at 5 pm sharp.

A short meeting takes place at 4 pm. It’s vital that one representative from each team in the League is present. The main issues are selecting a county men’s team manager for the upcoming inter-county events. And finalising a format, and prize fund for the Bye Nights Singles competitions to take place in the second half of the League. People and good ideas are equally welcome.

The Christmas Singles competition takes place on Sunday, December 12th at 5 pm in Hannon’s Hotel, Roscommon Town. Open Singles: Confined to players affiliated to Roscommon County Darts. Prize fund is €750 based on 32 players. Names must be in by 4.30 pm. Entry is €10 per player. First games 5 pm. One toss to start. Format is 5 x 501 up to the last eight. QF is 7 x 501. SF is 9 x 501. Final is best of 11 x 501. Prize fund covers winner, runner up, losing semi finalists, and losing quarter finalists.  Five boards in play (four competition, one practice). Contact Tommy on (086) 1088798 or Martin on (087) 6736476 for further details.

The Tommy Kenny Cup Darts Tournament will now take place on Sunday the 19th of December at with first games taking place at 4 pm.

The Hollywood, Roscommon 2, McDermott’s, Ballinaheglish 5.

Widow Pat’s, Knockcroghery 6, Chariot, Frenchpark 1 (20-5 on legs).

The Widow’s recorded a convincing win over the Chariot and moved to the top of the league. The Widow’s finishing was much better than previous weeks, and this was a major factor in their win. After the Chariot’s Frank Kearney had levelled the game at 1-1, the Widow’s greater experience told, and they ran out convincing winners. Stephen Beirne won his first ever league game for the Widow’s with a victory over a spirited Micheal Morahan effort.

Scores: J. Reilly 3, N. MacTiernan 0; T. Lyons 2 F. Kearney 3; M. Egan 3 P. Henry 0; N. Connaughton 3 B. Morris 0; S. Beirne 3 M. Morahan 1; P. Carton 3 M. MacDermott 1; P. Byrne 3 S. Boland 0.