Tuesday, 31 March 2015

No stopping Gael force

The under 14 B camógie final took place on bank holiday Monday between Padraig Pearses and Roscommon Gaels. From the start of the game Roscommon Gaels put pressure on the Padraig Pearses back line. In the 5th minute the Áine Curley, the Padraig Pearses goalie brought off a great save. Two minutes later Caoimhe Shanagher passed a great ball to Colleen Kelly who in turn passed the ball to Swetha Ganesh who scored a great goal. 

Great defending by Ellen Grehan denied Roscommon Gaels a further score. In 10th minute a free was awarded to Roscommon Gaels, Caoimhe Shanagher took the free which she passed to Katie Carr who scored a great point. A minute later Emily Comiskey tacked on another point for Roscommon Gaels. Roscommon Gaels continued to put pressure on the Padraig Pearses backline but were denied a number of scores by the good clearances by Ellen Grehan and Erica Greene.

In 17th minute Roisin Timothy passed the sliotar to Katie Carr, which resulted in goal for Roscommon Gaels. Seconds later Roscommon Gaels scored another point.  In 19th minute Roscommon Gaels were awarded a free and Caoimhe Shanagher put the sliotar in the back of the net. A minute later she added another point to leave the half-time score: Roscommon Gaels 3-4 Padraig Pearses 0-0.

In the second minute of the second half Roscommon Gaels scored another goal. Padraig Pearses then piled the pressure on the Roscommon Gaels goal but Ann Marie Treacy brought off a great clearance. In 11th Padraig Pearses were awarded a free and this was taken by the talented Erica Greene who scored a point. In 18th minute Caoimhe Shanagher took a shot on goal but Áine Curley brought off a great save for her team. Full-time score: Roscommon Gaels 4-4, Padraig Pearses 0-1.

Geraldine Greene, Chairperson of County Camógie Board presented the shield to Roscommon Gaels Captain. Ms. Greene thanked Athleague parks committee for use of pitch, referee Charlie Candon, umpires Aine Connaugton, Fiona Connell, Niamh Connolly and Pat Tighe. She also thanked the mentors, parents of the girls and all who supported the teams.

Roscommon Gaels: Ann Marie Treacy, Erica Neilan, Jessica McDermott, Louise McConn, Bronwyn Lyons, Leanne Connolly, Etain Hession, Caoimhe Shanagher, April Timothy, Emily Comiskey, Katie Carr, Colleen Kelly, Swetha Ganesh, Roisin Timothy, Monica Lach, Niamh McDermott, Sarah McDermott, Amy Dolan, Aoife Garvey, Roberta Jeffreys, Lorna Conway, Ciara Brown, Carla Skelly and Emma Finn. Management: Teresa Hession, Niamh Kilmartin, Michael Kelly, Michelle McCormack and Liam Bracken.

Padraig Pearses: Áine Curley, Emma Kenny, Nicole Curley, Megan Finnerty, Kim Kelly, Ellen Grehan, Grace Dooley, Michelle Kelly, Erica Greene, Grainne Lohan, Niamh Finnerty, Niamh Murray, Michaela Brooks, Aine Ryan, Valerie Ward, Sine Ryan, Lorraine Kenny, Katie Phelan, Shannon Glennon, Katie Cullen, Nadine Kenny and Nicole Sweeney. Management: Padraig and Belinda Dooley, Pattie Warde.

Skills Final

The skills final took place on Friday evening last. Results were as follows: 1st Sarah Kelly, Four Roads; 2nd Katie Doyle, Four Roads, 3rd Michelle Carthy, Oran. Sarah Kelly will represent Roscommon at the U14 Skills Féile na nGael final.