Saturday, 28 March 2015

Pearses win Feile!

Last Thursday Padraig Pearses’ U-14 hurlers travelled to Mobhi Road, Dublin the home of their gracious hosts for the 2012 Hurling Feile, Na Fianna. The team travelled in search of the club’s second Hurling Feile title, having been the only previous Roscommon winner in 1997.

 Their first game was against Na Fianna's second team. The highlights of this game were a brace of goals from Oisin Kelly with great work up front by Shane Downey. In defence the gutsy Luke Powell showed no fear of his Dublin cousins. Patrick Craven belied his tender age with a plucky first half until his forced replacement by the capable Mark Haynes. Final score: Pearses 4-6 Na Fianna B 1-3.

  The lads then took part in the Keynote Feile Parade of teams on Thursday evening, which this year took place between Croke Park and reviewing stand in O’Connell Street with thousands of supporters lining the streets along the way.

  On Friday morning the team travelled to Silverpark, Leopardstown for two more group games, the first against Kilmacud Croke's B team. The game, played in heavy mist, was notable for the great defensive work done by ever-dependable Lorcan Daly at full-back, ably assisted by the hard-working Paul Carey and tenacious Dylan Johnson. Daniel Glynn had his scoring helmet on for this encounter which finished Pearses 5-5 to Kilmacud Crokes B 2-2.

  The final and decisive game in this group which was against the Donegal champions Buncrana who had also progressed to this stage unbeaten in the group. Buncrana proved to be a hard nut to crack. Indeed Pearses relied on their unflappable goalkeeper Jamie Curley to clear his lines on several occasions, while Oisin Kelly proved stalwart in defence. In attack Eoin Galvin and Lee Clogher made very valuable contributions. The game ended Pearses 2-7 Buncrana 1-1.

  The semi-final was played later that evening at Silverpark in what can only be described as appalling weather conditions. The game only proceeded following trojan work by grounds staff and local volunteers. The game against Dublin Club Naomh Barrog was another step up in intensity, Among those who stepped up to the plate for Pearses was the fiercely determined Seamie Lohan, and the equally committed Aaron Carty. Pearses ultimately adapted better to the conditions and finished with a well-earned shot at the title on a score of 1-8 to 0-3 points.

  The Div. 4 All-Ireland Feile Final was played in Croke Park early last Saturday morning. A large crowd of supporters from both teams enjoyed the spectacle that is an All-Ireland Final in this wonderful venue. Pearses’ opposition were the Tyrone champions Eoghan Ruadh who had impressed en route to the final. 

  Aaron Johnson got Pearses off to the dream start and helped to settle the team’s early jitters with an opportunist goal in the early minutes. Karl Feehily and Lorcan Daly proved their mettle at the heart of the Pearses defence with a display truly worthy of this big stage. Daniel Glynn's point from play way out on the left wing was singled out as one of the gems of Feile 2012 and Shane Downey’s well-taken point at the end of the second half served well in a very tight finish. Final score: Pearses 1-7 Eoghan Ruadh 0-8. The Dr. Birch Trophy was presented to the Pearses team by GAA President Liam O’Neill amid rapturous scenes in the Hogan Stand. 

  The Pearses Club wishes to thank Na Fianna Club for their great hospitality and support over the Feile weekend and especially the fans who travelled to support the team and welcome home the panel. Finally the U-14 team and club wish to express their great gratitude to all those who helped prepare the team to this stage in particular managers Tom Costello and Alan Glynn and coach Conor Fitzgibbon, along with all the backroom help.

Issue dated: 13 JULY 2012
© Roscommon People