Thursday, 2 April 2015

Kepak Senior Hurling Championship Round-Up

Group B

Padraig Pearses ...... 0-15 Four Roads ...... 0-13

Padraig Pearses provided a dramatic statement of intent for the coming year when they defeated championship favourites and current county title holders Four Roads in the opening round of the Kepak senior hurling championship in Ballyforan on Sunday last.

  The game was played out in dramatic fashion and after Four Roads looked to have snatched a draw with two points from Eamon Mulry and Johnny Coyne it was Pearses who held their nerve with a brace of points from sharpshooter Cathal Kelly deep into injury time sealing the last gasp win.

 Pearses were the better side during the opening period and managed to manufacture a 0-11 to 0-6 lead at the interval. Cathal Kelly (0-5), Michael Donoghue (0-3), Ollie Dolan, Thomas Sweeney and Robert Nolan all registered points for Pearses while Padraig Kelly, Enda Rogerson, Johnny Coyne and Shane Curley (0-2) responded for Four Roads.

  Four Roads hauled themselves back into contention  after the break through scores from Rogerson, Curley and Mulry which left only two points between the teams as the finale beckoned.

  Even though the current county champions managed to equalise as the game petered into injury time it was league champions Pearses who struck late on to seal a notable win for the Woodmount based club.

Padraig Pearses: C. Fitzgibbon; J. Donoghue, P. Finneran, S. Naughton, D. Mulvey; A. Loughnane, M. Mulvey, O. Dolan (0-1); C. Kelly (0-8, all frees); R. Nolan (0-1), D. Loughnane, M. Donoghue (0-4); T. Sweeney (0-1), D. Sweeney, C. Cogavin. Subs: L. Flynn for D. Sweeney (46 mins), G. Hendricks for Cogavin (50 mins), K. Feehily for Nolan (53 mins), A. Sweeney for D. Mulvey (58 mins).

Four Roads: D. Dowd; B. Donnelly, M. McLoughlin, D. Fallon; S. Curley (0-3, three frees), M. Kelly, J. Rogerson; J. Moran, E. Mulry (0-1); C. Dolan, P. Kelly (0-1), J. Coyne (0-3); T. Kelly , J. Lawlor, E. Rogerson (0-5, all frees). Subs: C. Dowd for J. Rogerson (36 mins), C. Mulry for Dolan (44 mins), B. Kelly for T. Kelly (44 mins).

Referee: K. McGeeney.

Group B

Athleague ...... 6-17 Roscommon Gales ...... 0-7

Athleague got their championship campaign off to an emphatic start when they comprehensively defeated a disappointing Roscommon Gaels in a one-sided encounter in the opening round of the Kepak senior hurling championship in Ballyforan on Sunday last.

  The writing was very much on the wall for the Gaels at the interval, at which point they trailed last years county finalists by 4-8 to 0-5 and Garry Fallon Ė with a brace - and Mervyn Connaughton and David Flaherty all finding the net for Athleague during the opening half.

  Cormac Kelly struck two further goals after the resumption to rub salt into the Gaels players wounds and with Athleague completely on top for the remainder of the tie, it became a case of target practise for them and they ran out comprehensive winners in the end.

Athleague: D. Connell; D. Heavey, C. Moran, T. Bannon; A. Moore, N. Connolly, E. Bannon; D. Delaney, S. McGeeney; D. Flaherty (1-2), M. Connaughton (1-0), S. Moore; C. Kelly (2-5), G. Fallon (2-8, 1-4 from frees), R. Fallon. Subs: P. Leahy (0-1) for Connaughton (39 mins), A. Donnelly for Heavey (40 mins), ET. Murray (0-1) for R. Fallon (45 mins), JP. Murray for Moran (45 mins), T. Connaughton for McGeeney (47 mins).

Roscommon Gaels: G. Egan; B. Mullen, B. Concannon, D. McDermoptt; L. Tiernan, K. Doolin, C. Egan; C. Duignan, G. Waldron (0-5, four frees); T. Mullen, F. Doyle, P. Conlon (0-1); P. Henily, D. Waldron (0-1), K. gately. Subs: C. Mulry for Hanily (53 mins), E. Tully for Tiernan (42 mins), E. Regan for Gately (51 mins), L. Clogher for Doyle (51 mins).

Referee: A. Clogher.

Group A

Oran ...... 1-12 St. Dominicís ...... 0-9

Oran opened up their championship campaign with a hard-earned six-point win over St. Dominicís in the opening round of the Kepak senior hurling championship in Ballyforan on Sunday last.

  The defining score of the contest arrived five minutes before the interval when Thomas Fetherson goaled for Oran, handing them a lead which they would subsequently never relinquish.

  There was very little to choose between the side until Featherstoneís goal put daylight between the teams and even though St. Dominicís threatened to eat into the deficit for long periods of the second half, Oran held out to seal a win which puts them on the front foot in their group.

Oran: G. Fallon; S. Keane, S. Moylett, G. Concannon; S. Hoban, D. Leanord, J. Crehan; M. Gunning, P. McCormack (0-2); D. Varley, M. Dwyer (0-2), J. Cassidy (0-1); M. Hoban, T. Featherston (1-0), D. Concannon (0-7, all frees). Subs: K. Carty for Hoban (41 mins).

St. Dominicís: D. Beirne; S. Finneran (0-1, a free), N. Moran, S. McCormack; M. Miley, C. Shaw, D. Byrne; J. Murray, A. Beades;. M. Berine, R. Byrne, D. Dowling; C. Hunt (0-1), A. Fallon, B. Hanley (0-6, five frees). Subs: D. Murray for D. Byrne (15 mins), C. McGloin for Beirne (58 mins).

Referee: D. Daly.

Issue dated: 29 June 2012
© Roscommon People