Wednesday, 1 April 2015

No joy in final league outing for Roscommon

Allianz National Football League Division 3

Roscommon footballers suffered their third league defeat of the season when they went down by three points to Sligo in this last round game played in Markievicz ParK on Sunday last. 

  It was a meaningless game with regard to promotion or relegation and the small attendance reflected that. A goal from Adrian Marren at the end of the first half proved the difference between the sides in the end. It was probably a fair result but Roscommon will point to the fact that they shot 13 wides over the course of the game.

  The sides traded scores early on and with John Rogers and Conor Devanney on target. The impressive Adrian Marren was also on target with two fine points for the home side. Cathal Cregg was playing well and scored two fine points to keep Roscommon level with the home side. Late in the half Senan Kilbride and Shane Mc Manus swapped points to level the scores at 0-6 each as the half time whistle neared. However Marren’s well-taken goal in injury time saw the home side go in 1-6 to 0-6 ahead at half time.

  The impressive Mark Breheny scored two pints for Sligo on the resumption and further points from David Rooney and Paul Mc Govern saw the home side go seven points ahead. However Roscommon were back in the game after points from Kevin Higgins, Conor Devanney, Cathal Cregg. Senan Kilbride and Ger Heneghan and suddenly the gap was reduced to two points.

  But Sligo kicked on again and points from Shane Mc Manus and Alan Costello established a vital four point gap heading into injury time. Conor Devanney scored a late point for Roscommon but it was of consolation value only and the home side prevailed to take the points.

  Best for Roscommon on the day were Cathal Cregg, Ian Kilbride, Cathal Dineen. Conor Devanney and Kevin Higgins. It was a low key ending to the league campaign and now sights will be firmly set on the championship game against Galway in Dr Hyde Park on Sunday May 20th.

  Roscommon:Geoffrey Claffey; Seanie Mc Dermott Neil Collins Seanie Purcell; Cathal Dineen Peter Domican Ian Kilbride; Michael Finneran, Kevin Higgins (0-1); David O Gara Cathal Cregg (0-3) John Rogers(0-1); Conor Devanney (0-3) Enda Kenny (0-1) Senan Kilbride (0-2). Subs: David Keenan for Domican, Ger Heneghan (0-1) for Kenny, Darren Mc Dermott for Kilbride.

  Sligo: P Greene; N Ewing N Mc Guire R Donovan; P Mc Govern(0-1) M Quinn D Rooney (0-1); E Mullen T Taylor; B Egan (0-1) S Mc Manus (0-2) C Griffin; M Breheny (0-3) A Marren (1-3) A Costello (0-1). Subs: F Quinn for Griffin, J Davey for Rooney. J Martin for Taylor.

Referee: B. Cassidy, Derry. 

Issue dated: 13 April 2012

© Roscommon People